The Doris Humphrey Society was established in 1989 as a non-profit organization supported by individual contributions and grants from the Oak Park Area Arts Council and The Illinois Humanities Council. Its purpose is to serve as a source of information for those interested in the choreography and life of Doris Humphrey, and to provide educational programs such as workshops, seminars and performances. Future funding will also be directed toward the reconstruction of choreography and archival preservation.

Board of Directors

Charles Humphrey Woodford – President
Patricia Ackerman William Adelman Kevin Bry

Judith Chitwood

Stephanie Clemens Gail Corbin

Karen Doty

Michael Dutka Larry Ippel
Sandra Kaufmann James Madigan Paula Murphy
Roberta L. Raymond Amy Reusch/Chibeau Merril Doty

Advisory Board


Deborah Carr Roberto Garcia Lesley Main
Jim May Ann Vachon